Home > About Saskenergy > News : News Releases

   Company Info
   Core Values & Code
   News Releases
   Annual Report
   Quarterly Report
   Contact Us

   To view Annual and Quarterly
   Reports you will require
   Adobe Acrobat Version 5+

June 23, 2003 - SaskEnergy Unveils Winning First Nations Artwork

June 23, 2003

SaskEnergy Unveils Winning First Nations Artwork

SaskEnergy today revealed the winning artwork to be used in the SaskEnergy/First Nations Safety Calendar 2004.

List of winners...

This is the third year that SaskEnergy has partnered with First Nations schools across the province to produce the SaskEnergy safety calendar. Through an annual competition, the calendar showcases artwork produced by First Nations students that carries natural gas-related safety messages.

This drawing by Cheyenne Wolfe of the Muskowekwan First Nation is one that will be featured in the 2004 SaskEnergy/First Nations Safety Calendar when it is released in October.

The winning artwork for the SaskEnergy/First Nations calendar was unveiled today at the SaskEnergy Yorkton office. This year, almost 1,000 entries were received from 21 Saskatchewan First Nations schools across the province. The judging was carried out by a panel including First Nations artists.

Deputy Premier and Yorkton MLA Clay Serby, on behalf of Crown Investments Corporation (CIC) Minister Maynard Sonntag, announced the 14 winners and presented two Yorkton area students - Kassie Whitehawk and Kiana Pelly, both from the Chief Gabriel Cote Educational Complex - with their prize packages. All the winning artists will receive prize packages courtesy of SaskEnergy. (Editors - please see attached backgrounder for complete list of winners).

"The SaskEnergy/First Nations Safety Calendar is a unique and effective way of spreading safety messages," Deputy Premier Clay Serby said. "Not only does the calendar teach and inform, it also reinforces the relationship between SaskEnergy and First Nations communities across the province."

The calendar, which includes the students' artwork, biographies and pictures, will be available for distribution in October 2003.

"By celebrating the talents of young First Nations artists, SaskEnergy is proud to promote Saskatchewan culture and heritage," said Sean Quinton, General Manager, SaskEnergy, Yorkton area. "SaskEnergy/First Nations Safety Calendar has been very successful - each year, we're impressed by the talent and enthusiasm these students show."

Each year, the school with the highest participation is awarded a community/school barbecue lunch as well as a natural gas barbecue. This year Moosomin School from Moosomin First Nation received the award with 157 entries in the calendar safety contest.

For more information, please contact:

Dave Burdeniuk
Communications, SaskEnergy
Phone: (306) 777-9842
Cell: (306) 535-6569

SaskEnergy/First Nations Calendar 2004
List of Winners

Jonathan Bellegarde Peepeekisis School Peepeekisis First Nation
Sarah Starblanket Ahtahkakoop School Ahtahkakoop First Nation
Hilarie Swiftwolfe Moosomin School Moosomin First Nation
Kristara Desjarlais Kawacatoose Education Complex Kawacatoose First Nation
Stephanie Severight George Gordon Education Centre George Gordon First Nation
Chelsea Myo Saulteaux Heritage School Saulteaux First Nation
Melina Johnston Sweetgrass School Sweetgrass First Nation
Chaylene Swiftwolfe Moosomin School Moosomin First Nation
Kiana Pelly Chief Gabriel Cote Education Complex Cote First Nation
Kassie Whitehawk Chief Gabriel Cote Education Complex Cote First Nation
Katie Paddy Piyesiw Awasis School Thunderchild First Nation
Preston Chief Makwa Sahgaiehcan School Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation
Cheyenne Wolfe Muskowekwan School Muskowekwan First Nation

Honourable Mention
Twyla Standingwater from Piyesiw Awasis School, Thunderchild First Nation